I’ve been unfriended on FaceBook by some old real life friends. That doesn’t bother me much, but their mentality does. These people are often quite liberal in their mindset. Not as in the classical liberal, but the modern progressive liberal. These people are often educated…well, they’ve had schooling. I’m not sure they can truly be considered educated. As Nobel Laureate Peter Medawar said, people “…have been educated far beyond their capacity to undertake analytic thought.” I have no doubt that these people are well meaning, but as the saying goes the road to hell is paved with good intentions. “Classical liberalism is a political ideology that values the freedom of individuals — including the freedom of religion, speech, press, assembly, and markets — as well as limited government.” But the modern liberal is progressive and tends to reject these concepts and advocates for ever greater control by the ‘right’ people, which is often the government.

Somehow the thought that they are acting in a patronizing manner to these people doesn’t occur to them. The fact that, if their wishes are taken to their logical conclusions, they are genocidal completely escapes them.

Currently in ND there is a protest going on over the Dakota Access Pipeline. The Standing Rock Sioux tribe is upset about the route of the pipeline. They feel it endangers their water supply and disturbs burial grounds and other sacred sites. In support of the tribe a meme was being passed around by one of my friends (I’ve know this person all my life, they were born a year before me and their Dad is my godfather). I pointed out some issues with such support.

liberal-mentality

Read the initial response to my comment again in case you missed it. “Safety is not my big concern…” Ouch. That’s just painful. Now I understand that nothing can ever be completely, totally, 100% safe. There is risk involved in anything we do. But knowing that, I usually try to minimize the risk of what I do whenever I can. No use getting burned unnecessarily. As for the rest of her argument, it’s fairly well useless.

dapl-nd-map-4northern-border-pipeline-croppedst-anthony-nd

The main protest site is just north of Cannon Ball. The Dakota Access Pipeline follows the existing Northern Border Pipeline through that area, as can be seen by comparing the top two maps. It doesn’t cross the Standing Rock Reservation. No burial grounds or other culturally sensitive areas have been identified along the route there. As an aside, my mother’s side of the the family homesteaded just outside St. Anthony (marked on the bottom map) and my grandfather was Sheriff of Morton County when I was a child. I know a little bit about the area in question. One of my childhood buddies is currently a deputy for Morton County as well, and I still have relatives living in the area.

Wanting to do away with “Big oil” because it sucks? OK, I can understand that. I’d also like to see less fossil fuel usage. But the reality is, we need that energy and there isn’t another good alternative right now. Regardless of how I feel about it, the real world has a tendency to reach out and slap the shit out of people who deny reality for very long. So until some clean (and let’s face it, solar and wind aren’t all that clean when you consider things like precious metal mining, wild life deaths and the reliability factors) and cheap energy sources are developed, our best power options are fossil fuels and nuclear fission (which has it’s own long term waste issues). Abolishing oil use without a replacement would devastate our economy, cause widespread starvation and death and likely civil war. Just within the US the dead would likely be counted in the tens of millions. Deny all fossil fuels and you’d likely see the dead in the hundreds of millions. That’s genocidal. I’m not sure if there is another term for that level of death.

And the very people the modern liberal wants to ‘save’ are the ones that are going to get hit hardest. The extremely wealthy will probably do OK because they would have the resources available to survive. And those that don’t buy into modern life now, like the Amish, would likely make it. The rest of us will be rolled into mass graves if we’re lucky. Left to rot in the streets and feed the scavengers if we’re not.

Another friend that I’ve known for over a decade posted one of the Occupy Democrats memes. The response at the bottom boggles my mind.

liberal-laws

Let me zoom in on that so it’s easier to read. Because my jaw literally dropped open at it. I mean, that’s kind of a What the FUCK? moment.

liberal-laws-close-up

The Same laws now cannot be the same laws in 50-100 years.” Pardon my ignorance, but I can think of a few that have been around for a few millenia that still seem relevant.

  1. Don’t kill
  2. Don’t steal
  3. Don’t tell lies
  4. Don’t cheat on your chosen spouse(s)

Those seem like a pretty good basis for a society to live by if they want to survive. There are some more that have been around for only a few centuries that I am fond of as well.

  1. Everyone has the right to their own opinions and to express them freely
  2. Everyone has the right to move about freely and choose to hang out or do business with whomever they wish
  3. Everyone has the right to worship as they wish, including the right not to worship at all
  4. Everyone has the right to do with their property as they seem fit without interference
  5. Everyone has the right to defend themselves, others around them, and their property
  6. Everyone has the right to not be forced to incriminate themselves
  7. Everyone has the right to confront their accusers

I also appreciate the right to have a say in who represents me in government. I may not always agree with them, but it’s nice to have the option of choosing.

Another friend (whose mother was one of my elementary teachers) posted a link to an article at The New York Times, The Perpetual Panic of American Parenthood. It goes on to talk about “…our lack of government support for child care…“.  I’m unclear on where in the Constitution the Federal Government is tasked with childcare. Can someone point me in the right direction. I keep finding the 10th Amendment for some reason. I mean, that’s sort of a feature, not a bug. I don’t want the government sticking it’s nose into how I raise my daughter. Is it expensive? Yes. Is it worthwhile? Yes. Are there things I’d like to do differently? Yes. But all of our actions and decisions have trade offs and consequences. The less influence the government has on my actions and decisions the better off I and my family are. I have yet to meet a government program that can’t be fucked up by a bureaucrat. I work for a level of government, and I don’t trust the government because I see on a daily basis the complete and utter bullshit that is done under the guise of ‘helping people’.

I’ve written before about the shortsightedness of people who want to limit free speech. That they can’t understand that what they want to do to the people who disagree with them can be easily turned around onto themselves seems to be a common characteristic of the modern liberal progressive mindset. If you don’t want your worst enemy to have that power over you, don’t advocate for it over them.

The best way to help people is to let them help themselves. It shouldn’t be the job of the government to save us. Let us work it out for ourselves.

