I’m around half done with my grandmother’s photo album. Here are some more highlights.

 

Oscar & Elfrida
Oscar & Elfrida

This looks to be the oldest photo in the album. These are my great grand parents Oscar and Elfrida, both born in Sweden, married in Fargo, ND, March 24, 1906. She passed away a few days after my grandmother was born.

Hazel & Roger
Hazel & Roger

This would be my great aunt and her oldest son. I’m not positive, but I want to say this is in Minot, ND. And that looks like either a old combine or threshing machine off the right.

Hazel snow in trees in 35
Hazel snow in trees in 35

There must have been a heck of a storm in 1935 to pile the snow up to the tree’s like that.

Hazel
Hazel

This would be my great aunt. I’m not sure what year it was taken.

 

Oil
Oil

The first producing oil well in ND was in 1951. I don’t know when this one was taken, or where, but I think it was withing a couple of years of 1951.

 

Newtown
New Town

There are quite a few photos from the New Town area of the 4 Bears Bridge. There is a good little history of the construction of this bridge while Lake Sakakawea was filling at Ghosts of North Dakota. I really enjoy checking stuff out on that website.

Eleanor Feb 1942
Eleanor Feb 1942

Here’s one of Eleanor. I’m not sure if this is one of my grandmother’s older sisters (one of which may have gone by that name as it’s her middle name) or one of her friends from school, or one of her nieces.

 

Silvia Timoskevich, Mar. 6, 1943
Silvia Timoskevich, Mar. 6, 1943

My grandmother’s niece. I just love the expression on this dog’s face.

 

69 Flood Lake Darling
69 Flood Lake Darling
City pump station river
City pump station river
17 Robinwood
17 Robinwood
17 Robinwood
17 Robinwood
17 Robinwood
17 Robinwood

These are from the 1969 Flood of the Mouse River in Minot. They built a dike through the back yard of my grand parent’s house, but it didn’t do much good. A comparison of the ’69 flood to the ’11 flood at Lifesabatch, if you scroll down about 2/3 of the way you’ll see the Minot Public Library again by the 6th ST underpass.

 

 

