I recently got hold of my grandmother’s photo album. Well, one of them anyway. This one seemed to have the most photos and the widest range of photos. I started scanning them this weekend as the holiday weekend is extremely slow with no camps or students around and all but essential personnel not working.

I just love working with old family photos. One of the things I’ve been surprised by is how flimsy many of these old photos are. Notebook paper seems sturdier. Most have a name or place written on the back, but it’s hard deciphering the handwriting at times. Some have no information so I have no idea who the photo is of. It’ll probably take me a few weeks of working steady to get through all of the album. In other words it’ll probably take all summer of doing it a little here and a little there.

Here are some of the highlights so far:

Bud
Bud

This is my paternal grandfather ‘Bud’. He was born in December 1923, so I’m guessing this was taken in the spring of 1924.

Bud
Bud

This is my grandfather in his uniform. He was a paratrooper with the 517 Parachute Combat Team.

Hecker plane
Hecker plane

On the back of this photo is written ‘Hecker Plane’. To me it looks like a Junkers Ju-52. I have no idea who the man in the photo is.

Bud & Tiny
Bud & Tiny

This is my grandfather and Tiny, the dog he brought back from Germany after WWII.

Grandma & Grandpa Schultz
Grandma & Grandpa

These are my paternal grandfather’s parents, Frank and Edna.

Schultz
family

Here’s my great grand parents, Frank & Edna, with their kids, Margie, Bud, Erma and Edna at a family picnic in ’50’s. I’m not positive where this was taken, but from all the birch trees in this and other photos it appears to be somewhere in the Turtle Mountains of ND (which are really just some low hills along the Canadian border, but when everything is so flat, hills seem like mountains).

Schultz & Mary Ann
Frank, Edna & Mary Ann

Another photo of the picnic with my great grandparents and one of their grand kids. I’m not sure if it’s the same table, but my grandmother has one that looks exactly like that in her basement yet.

Freda & Bud
Freda & Bud

My grandparents. Not sure where or when exactly, but there were a series of photos that appear to be taken at a park. I’m guessing the time is around summer of 1946.

Frank & Bud
Frank & Bud

 

My Dad and Grandfather. I’m not sure when this was taken, but since my Dad is so small I’m guessing late 1947 or early 1948.

Bud & Frank
Bud & Frank

Here they are again a little bit older. My grandmother still has that lamp and the print of The Last Supper that’s up on the wall.

Bud, Grandma & Frank
Bud, Grandma & Frank

My grandfather, great grandmother and Dad, who would have been a senior in ’65. That couch was still going strong in the late ’70’s, thankfully it’s dead now.

There are a lot more photos, for some reason there are like half a dozen of some small boats all lined up in a row that my grandfather apparently sold the motors to. I have no idea why. Once I start getting into the ’70’s and ’80’s some of the hair styles become…awkward. I’m not sure who thought a perm looked good on a guy.

