I honestly think the Nook and it’s eLibrary will be cut or sold off within about a year. Hopefully someone will buy up the customer list and library.

When B&N first came to town I was quite excited. When I went looking for an eReader I chose the Nook because it had the hardware and DRM schema that worked best for me and my family. But, I don’t think B&N understands its customer base (readers) because they do a lot of things to discourage readers. Of course, they’re not the only ones. It seems most of the publishers don’t understand readers either.

I detailed back in march ( https://westfargomusings.wordpress.com/2015/03/08/goodbye-bn-youve-driven-me-into-the-arms-of-another/ ) why I wasn’t going to be one of their customers anymore. For them to get me to come back? It would take a culture change within that company of such earth-shaking magnitude that Arizona would have ocean front property. It takes a long time to build up a good reputation and a solid customer base, but it can be thrown away in the blink of an eye by treating your customers like ****. That they rolled out a new website that they have been working on for two years and it doesn’t work for their customers nor their 3rd-party marketplace vendors says volumes about how well they are doing.

Kristen Lamb's Blog

Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 6.12.56 AM

The big news in publishing this week is Barnes & Noble’s plan to ax the Nook. After losing over a billion dollars trying to make the Nook a contender, it seems B&N’s new CEO is ready to just cut bait. According to Michael Kozlowski over at Good E Reader:

The NOOK segment (including digital content, devices and accessories) had revenues of $52 million for the 4th quarter and $264 million for the full year, decreasing 39.8% for the quarter and 47.8% for the year. Device and accessories sales were $13 million for the quarter and $86 million for the full year, declining 48.2% and 66.7%, respectively, due to lower unit selling volume. Digital content sales were $40 million for the quarter and $177 million for the full year, declining 36.5% and 27.8%, respectively, due primarily to lower device unit sales.

All I have to say is…OUCH.

I’d like to…

View original post 1,439 more words

