Irene Gallo has now made her statement, most likely forced on her from her employer, about her prior statements detailed here.

About my Sad/Rabid Puppies comments: They were solely mine. This is my personal page; I do not speak on behalf of Tor Books or Tor.com. I realize I painted too broad a brush and hurt some individuals, some of whom are published by Tor Books and some of whom are Hugo Award winners. I apologize to anyone hurt by my comments.

You’ll notice that the only thing she apologized for is hurting people’s feelings. There is no contrition in that statement about the mischaracterizations she set forth. Those were, and are, her true sentiments. I do not expect anything more from her. A hollow apology would be even worse than the non-apology she just made.

The founder of Tor Books, Tom Doherty, has also made a statement. While nice in sentiment and even handed, it doesn’t really address the meat of the issue. Some excerpts:

Last month, Irene Gallo, a member of Tor’s staff, posted comments about two groups of science fiction writers, Sad Puppies and Rabid Puppies, and about the quality of some of the 2015 Hugo Award nominees, on her personal Facebook page. Ms. Gallo is identified on her page as working for Tor. She did not make it clear that her comments were hers alone. They do not reflect Tor’s views or mine. She has since clarified that her personal views are just that and apologized to anyone her comments may have hurt or offended.

and

Tor employees, including Ms. Gallo, have been reminded that they are required to clarify when they are speaking for Tor and when they are speaking for themselves. We apologize for any confusion Ms. Gallo’s comments may have caused. Let me reiterate: the views expressed by Ms. Gallo are not those of Tor as an organization and are not my own views.  Rest assured, Tor remains committed to bringing readers the finest in science fiction – on a broad range of topics, from a broad range of authors.

There appears to be a cancer running through Tor Books, and until I see that steps have been taken to treat such sickness within the organization I will not be purchasing anything from Tor. It’s too little Mr. Doherty. Putting a band-aid over the wound doesn’t actually treat the underlying infection.

