My review of the short story Rescue Party by Arthur C. Clarke

cover

A ship of advanced star-faring races rushes to Earth to save us, only to discover an empty planet.


4 Stars

Someone over at Baen’s Bar was asking about this story so I decided to look it up and read it. Quite good. It was paced well, and I liked the premise of a galactic alien civilization coming to the rescue of Earth, only to find out we’re no longer there nor in need of rescuing. I think it pairs well with the later Pots by C. J. Cherryh, though obviously set in different story universes. I also like the idea of a being that can spread itself across the galaxy yet still simultaneously communicate with all of it’s individual parts if it wishes. Clarke has always been one of my favorite authors, and this story is no disappointment.

 

This is the only story I’ve read out of this compilation to date. I’m looking forward to reading the rest.

